CPD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does CPD Stand For?

TL;DR
  • On this site, CPD means Certified Professional Doula, issued by the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB).
  • The exam has three official domains: Professional Practices, Care Practices, and Business Practices.
  • Board fees total $400 ($50 application plus $350 exam), and tuition for training is separate.
  • The passing score is 70%, with a two-hour multiple-choice exam of roughly 140 questions.

The Short Answer: Certified Professional Doula

If you landed here asking what CPD stands for in the doula world, the answer is Certified Professional Doula. It is the official credential awarded by the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB) to doulas who meet its training, clinical-experience, documentation, and examination requirements. Everything on CPD Exam Prep is written about this specific credential, and about nothing else that happens to share the three letters.

That distinction matters more than it sounds. If you want the quick-reference versions of this answer, our shorter explainers cover the same ground from different angles: What Is CPD?, CPD Meaning, and What Is CPD Certification?. This article goes further by explaining who stands behind the credential, what it covers, what the exam looks like, and how you earn and keep it.

Why the Acronym Causes Confusion

"CPD" is a crowded abbreviation. Several unrelated credentials and phrases in other professions use the same three letters, and a search engine will happily mix them together. A candidate researching doula certification can easily end up reading about a different field's exam, fees, or renewal rules, and none of that information applies to you.

To keep your preparation grounded, anchor on these identifiers:

  • Full name: Certified Professional Doula
  • Issuing body: National Doula Certification Board (NDCB)
  • Nature of the credential: a full-spectrum, non-medical doula credential
  • Governing document for the exam: the NDCB Certified Professional Doula Content Outline, version 3 (May 2024)

It is also not CAPPA's Certified Postpartum Doula, and it is not another organization's Certified Perinatal Doula. Those are separate credentials from separate certifying bodies with their own requirements. If a study resource does not mention NDCB or the three NDCB domains, treat it with caution. Generic "doula exam" flashcards and answer banks on the open web are not verified against the NDCB blueprint.

Quick identity check: If a page quotes exam fees, pass rates, or renewal rules but never names the National Doula Certification Board, it is probably describing a different credential. Verify against NDCB's own materials before you rely on any number.

Who Issues the Credential

The National Doula Certification Board administers the Certified Professional Doula credential. NDCB's published fact sheet positions the credential as a certification, distinct from licensure and distinct from regulation of all doulas, and it reports 2024 accreditation by ANAB. Older handbook language discusses seeking accreditation, so if you read both documents you will notice that wording differs. The more recent fact sheet is the better guide to current status.

For exam delivery, NDCB's current examination page names the Assess.AI platform with MonitorEDU remote proctoring. An older version of the candidate handbook still references Prolydian and ProctorU. When scheduling, follow the current exam-delivery page rather than the historical handbook text, and re-check it close to your test date because operational details can change.

What the Credential Actually Covers

NDCB describes the credential as full-spectrum. In practice, that means the scope of doula support recognized by the credential reaches well beyond a single birth. The categories of support the board's materials describe include:

  • Fertility support
  • Prenatal, birth, and postpartum support
  • Feeding and sleep support
  • Early childhood support
  • Loss and grief support
  • Terminal illness and end-of-life support

Two clarifications keep this accurate. First, these are not extra exam domains. The exam is organized around three domains, covered next, and full-spectrum coverage shows up as the context within which those domains are tested. Second, "non-medical" is not a technicality. The credential does not confer authority to diagnose, treat, prescribe, or perform clinical procedures. A recurring theme on the exam is knowing where a doula's scope ends and when to refer a client onward.

The Three Official Exam Domains

The NDCB Certified Professional Doula Content Outline (v3, May 2024) defines exactly three domains, each broken into tasks with supporting knowledge and skills. NDCB does not publish percentage weights for these domains, and the fact that each domain lists a similar number of tasks does not mean the exam weights them equally. Any resource that gives you a precise percentage breakdown is inventing it. For a deeper walkthrough, see our complete guide to all 3 CPD content areas.

Domain 1: Professional Practices

This domain is about how a doula conducts herself and stays inside the bounds of the role.

  • Professional standards and scope of practice
  • Using evidence appropriately
  • Communication with clients, families, and care teams
  • Confidentiality and its limits
  • Recognizing and addressing personal bias

Domain 2: Care Practices

This is the hands-on core of the work: how a doula actually supports a person or family through a defined cycle of care.

  • Assessment of client needs
  • Individualized care planning
  • Providing support
  • Evaluating how support is going
  • Follow-up after the engagement
  • Referral when needs exceed the doula's scope

Domain 3: Business Practices

Many candidates under-prepare here because it feels less "doula-like." But running a sustainable, safe practice is a tested competency.

  • Operating a practice
  • Record keeping
  • Contracts
  • Fees
  • Insurance
  • Safety

Notice how the domains interact. A single scenario question can touch all three: a client discloses a concern in a late-night message (communication and confidentiality), the doula must decide whether it falls inside her scope and whether to refer (care practices), and then document the exchange appropriately and consider what the contract says (business practices). Studying the domains in isolation will help you learn the vocabulary, but practicing mixed scenarios will help you answer the questions.

Exam Format and Delivery

Here is what NDCB's published materials say about the test itself:

ElementWhat NDCB publishes
FormatMultiple choice
Time limitTwo hours
Question countAbout 140 (wording varies: the FAQ says 140, the exam page says at least 140, the handbook says approximately 140)
Passing score70%
DeliveryAssess.AI platform with MonitorEDU remote proctoring (per the current exam page)
Scored vs. unscored itemsNot disclosed
Accommodation requestsDue at least seven days before testing

Because the question-count language is inconsistent across NDCB documents, plan for "around 140, possibly more" rather than treating 140 as a guaranteed exact figure. I would not assume any particular adaptive behavior or calculator policy either, since neither is specified in the reviewed sources. For the scoring details, see CPD Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and for a realistic read on difficulty, How Hard Is the CPD Exam?.

Test-day rules to plan around

Because the exam is remotely proctored, your environment is part of the exam. NDCB's current instructions call for identification, an appropriate clear and private testing area, no outside materials or personal items, remaining in the testing space for the duration, and no copying of questions. Treat your room setup as a task to complete days in advance, not minutes before you start.

On pass rate: no cohort or first-attempt statistic appeared in the official sources reviewed. We discuss what is and is not known in CPD Pass Rate: What the Data Shows.

Eligibility: Two Ways to Qualify

Applicants must be at least 18 years old and qualify through one of two routes, per the Applicant & Candidate Handbook 2024-2025 (v5). Our full breakdown lives in CPD Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify; here is the overview.

PathwayCore requirement
Approved training-program graduateGraduate of an NDCB-approved program (AlloDoula Academy is listed). Evidence of completion must be within one year of application.
Prior or individual learning200 combined training hours completed within four years, plus 75 documented clinical hours.

The 75 clinical hours, in detail

On the individual pathway, the 75 clinical hours break down as 55 in a medical facility and 20 in-home. Inside that total, the handbook calls for five live births and 20 postpartum hours. The work is described as noncompensated and verified by a preceptor, with appropriately qualified medical preceptors. This is the part of the application that takes the longest to assemble, so start documenting from your first clinical shift. Our guide to CPD training options helps you compare routes, and the AlloDoula Academy program page is the exact-credential training source NDCB points to.

Supporting documentation

Beyond training and clinical hours, expect to provide or demonstrate:

  • CPR certification
  • Professional liability insurance
  • OSHA, bloodborne-pathogen, universal-precautions, and personal safety training
  • Business and client-contract documentation, or employer verification where applicable
  • Professional background materials
  • Agreement to NDCB's code and scope

Those safety and business items are prerequisites, not extra exam domains. They are also a preview of the Business Practices domain: if you have been through the paperwork, you have already touched much of what the exam asks about. One more note: no universal, fixed reference-letter count was verified, so do not treat a school's own admission references as a separate board requirement.

Two clocks that are easy to confuse

The current exam page tells candidates to test within one year of completing training and to schedule within 90 days of application approval. These are separate clocks, not a single combined eligibility window, and they need to be reconciled with whichever pathway you are using. Read CPD Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling before you submit your application so you do not run into avoidable deadlines.

Fees: Board Costs Versus Training Tuition

The published board fees are straightforward, and it helps to separate them from what you will pay your training provider.

ItemPublished USD amount
Application fee$50
Examination fee$350
Total board fees before training$400
Retake$100
Recertification (every three years)$300

The FAQ publishes no annual dues and no member versus nonmember exam pricing tier, so avoid sources that claim otherwise. Training tuition is additional to these board fees and depends on the program you choose. The full picture, including how to budget for it, is in CPD Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Attempt limits: The published pathway allows three attempts per application. The first retake is described as available within 30 days at a $100 fee, and three unsuccessful attempts require a new application. Knowing this up front is a good reason to treat your first attempt seriously rather than as a trial run.

Keeping the Credential Active

The credential is valid for three years. NDCB's detailed recertification instructions require 20 continuing-education contact hours plus 10 Keeping Current contact hours, for 30 total contact hours. Please do not translate that into "30 CEUs"; the board speaks in contact hours, and the conversion is not something the sources establish.

The Keeping Current component can be satisfied with a preapproved 10-hour course or with current-topic study validated through practice, including at least three client contracts with feedback. You must also maintain CPR/first aid, liability insurance, and compliance with the code and scope. The FAQ's shorter summary mentions 20 CEUs and omits the separate 10-hour piece, so rely on the detailed recertification page when planning your cycle.

Certification Is Not Licensure

NDCB's fact sheet explicitly distinguishes its credential from licensure. Earning the Certified Professional Doula credential shows you have met a defined standard; it does not create a government license to practice, and it does not regulate all doulas. This matters for how you describe your services and for how you think about the value of the credential.

On earnings, be careful. No reliable NDCB-CPD-specific salary distribution and no certification-caused earnings premium were verified in the research behind this site. If you want to think through the economics, start with CPD Salary Guide: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the CPD Certification Worth It?, which treat the question qualitatively rather than with made-up figures. If you are curious about where certified doulas work, CPD Jobs covers the landscape.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

Rather than a generic study calendar, tie your schedule to how the three domains build on each other. A sensible order moves from the rules of the role, to the care process, to the practice infrastructure, and then to mixed scenarios.

Week 1

Professional Practices first

  • Learn scope boundaries and the code cold, because they shape the "right answer" in every other domain
  • Drill confidentiality limits and bias scenarios
Weeks 2-3

Care Practices, the heaviest lift

  • Walk the full cycle: assess, plan, support, evaluate, follow up, refer
  • Practice full-spectrum scenarios, including loss and end-of-life support, where referral judgment is tested
Week 4

Business Practices

  • Review contracts, records, fees, insurance, and safety using your own application paperwork as a worked example
Week 5

Mixed scenarios and timed sets

  • Practice under a two-hour clock with around 140 items in mind
  • Review every miss by domain to find the pattern

For a deeper strategy, our CPD Study Guide goes through first-attempt tactics, and the CPD Cheat Sheet condenses the must-know facts onto one page. When you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, try the CPD practice test and use your results to decide which domain deserves another pass.

Key Takeaway

Treat scope and referral as the thread that ties all three domains together. When two answer choices both sound caring, the better one almost always respects the non-medical boundary of the role and documents or refers appropriately.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CPD stand for in this context?

CPD stands for Certified Professional Doula, the credential issued by the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB). It is a full-spectrum, non-medical doula credential and is separate from other credentials that happen to share the same abbreviation. For more on the phrasing, see What Does CPD Stand For? and What Does CPD Mean?.

Is the CPD the same as a Certified Postpartum Doula or Certified Perinatal Doula?

No. NDCB's Certified Professional Doula is its own credential with its own requirements and its own exam. CAPPA's Certified Postpartum Doula and other organizations' perinatal doula credentials are separate. Details like fees and renewal rules do not transfer between them.

How many questions are on the exam, and what score do I need?

The exam is multiple choice with a two-hour limit and roughly 140 questions; NDCB's documents word the count slightly differently (140, at least 140, approximately 140). The passing score is 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.

How much do the board fees cost?

The published board fees are a $50 application fee plus a $350 exam fee, totaling $400 before training. A retake costs $100 and recertification costs $300 every three years. Training tuition is separate and varies by program.

Does the credential expire?

Yes. It is valid for three years. Recertification requires 20 continuing-education contact hours plus 10 Keeping Current contact hours, along with current CPR/first aid, liability insurance, and continued compliance with the code and scope. The current requirements are listed on NDCB's recertification page.

Understanding the name is only the first step. The real work is learning how the three domains fit together and practicing the scenario-style judgment the exam rewards. Start with the domain guide, use the cost and requirements pages to plan your timeline and budget, and build your knowledge steadily toward test day.

Ready to pass your CPD exam?

Put this into practice with free CPD questions across every exam domain.