- What the 70% Passing Score Means for the Certified Professional Doula Exam
- Which CPD Are We Talking About?
- What NDCB Publishes and What It Doesn't
- Exam Format Behind the Number
- Where the 70% Gets Earned: The Three Official Domains
- Scenario Thinking: Full-Spectrum and Grief-Support Questions
- Three Attempts, $100 Retakes, and What a Miss Costs You
- Fees, Clocks, and Eligibility Before You Ever Sit for the Score
- A Domain-Ordered Prep Calendar
- Test-Day Conditions That Protect Your Score
- After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The NDCB Certified Professional Doula exam requires a 70% passing score.
- NDCB publishes three domains but no percentage weights, so study all three evenly.
- The exam is multiple choice with a two-hour limit and roughly 140 questions or more.
- Board fees total $400 ($350 exam plus $50 application); a retake costs $100.
What the 70% Passing Score Means for the Certified Professional Doula Exam
The passing score for the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB) Certified Professional Doula (CPD) exam is 70%. That is the single most important number to carry into your preparation, and it is also the one number that is easy to misread. A 70% threshold does not mean you can ignore a third of the material, and it does not tell you how many questions you must answer correctly, because NDCB's own materials describe the question count with slightly different wording.
This article breaks down what the 70% threshold means in practice for this specific credential: how the exam is built, which three domains your score is drawn from, what NDCB has and has not published, and how to plan your preparation around the actual structure rather than assumptions borrowed from other tests. If you want the broader picture of difficulty alongside the score, pair this guide with our complete difficulty guide for the CPD exam.
Which CPD Are We Talking About?
The letters "CPD" appear on several unrelated credentials. This site covers exactly one: the Certified Professional Doula credential issued by the NDCB. It is a full-spectrum, non-medical doula certification. It is not CAPPA's Certified Postpartum Doula, and it is not another organization's Certified Perinatal Doula. If you are reading a passing score, fee, or exam date from a source that does not name NDCB, you may be looking at a different credential entirely.
For a plain-language orientation, see our explainers on what CPD certification is and what CPD stands for. The rest of this article assumes you have already decided that the NDCB pathway is the one you are pursuing.
What NDCB Publishes and What It Doesn't
Candidates often search for details NDCB has simply not released. Being clear about the gaps keeps you from building a study plan on rumor.
| Item | What is published |
|---|---|
| Passing score | 70% |
| Question format | Multiple choice |
| Time limit | Two hours |
| Question count | FAQ says 140; the exam page says at least 140; the handbook says approximately 140 |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Domain weights | No percentages published |
| Pass rate | No cohort or first-attempt statistic verified in official sources |
| Adaptive testing or calculator | No specification verified |
Two practical consequences follow. First, because the question count is stated as "140," "at least 140," and "approximately 140," you should not build a plan around an exact number of questions. Second, because the split between scored and unscored items is not disclosed, you cannot compute precisely how many items you can miss. Treat 70% as a performance standard to exceed with margin, not a target to hit exactly. For what is and is not known about outcomes, see our page on the CPD pass rate.
Exam Format Behind the Number
The exam is delivered through the Assess.AI examination platform with MonitorEDU remote proctoring, according to NDCB's current exam-delivery page. An older, still-linked handbook names Prolydian/ProctorU as the provider. When the two conflict, rely on the current exam-delivery page for scheduling instructions and confirm with NDCB before booking.
The format is multiple choice with a two-hour limit. Two hours across roughly 140 or more questions leaves less than a minute per item on average, which makes pacing a real factor in whether you reach your 70%. Candidates who spend too long on early scenario questions can end up guessing on later ones, so practice answering at pace before test day. Our CPD practice test is built to help you rehearse timed multiple-choice work against the three official domains.
Where the 70% Gets Earned: The Three Official Domains
The formal exam objectives come from the NDCB Certified Professional Doula Content Outline, version 3, dated May 2024. It defines exactly three domains, each with tasks and supporting knowledge and skills. NDCB does not publish percentage weights for them. Note that each domain lists five tasks, but five tasks per domain does not mean the domains carry equal weight on the exam. The safest assumption is that any of the three could contribute meaningfully to your score, so you cannot afford a weak domain.
Domain 1: Professional Practices
This domain covers how a doula conducts herself within the profession and the limits of the role.
- Professional standards and scope of practice for a non-medical doula
- Evidence-informed practice and communication
- Confidentiality and handling of client information
- Recognizing and addressing personal and systemic bias
Domain 2: Care Practices
The most hands-on domain, centered on how you assess, plan, and support clients across their needs.
- Assessing client needs and building individualized plans
- Providing support and evaluating whether it is working
- Follow-up after care
- Referral to appropriate resources when a need falls outside your scope
Domain 3: Business Practices
The domain candidates most often underestimate because it feels administrative rather than clinical.
- Operating a practice, including records and documentation
- Contracts and fee structures
- Insurance considerations
- Safety for both client and doula
For a deeper walkthrough of every task area, read our complete guide to the three CPD content areas. The key point for your score: the three domain names above are the only official ones. Full-spectrum topics such as fertility, prenatal, birth, and postpartum support, feeding and sleep, early childhood, loss, terminal illness, and end-of-life support appear within the exam's tasks and knowledge areas but are not additional domains, and they do not grant medical practice privileges.
Scenario Thinking: Full-Spectrum and Grief-Support Questions
Because the credential is full-spectrum, you should expect scenario-style items that test judgment rather than recall. Here are two original illustrations of the kind of reasoning involved, not actual exam questions.
Notice how scenarios cut across domains. A single item may ask you to protect confidentiality (Domain 1), choose an appropriate support action (Domain 2), and keep documentation or contract boundaries intact (Domain 3). This overlap is why studying the domains in isolation can leave gaps, and why a practice test that mixes domains is valuable. When you are ready to test yourself on this style of reasoning, try the practice exam on the main site.
Three Attempts, $100 Retakes, and What a Miss Costs You
NDCB's published pathway allows three attempts per application. The first retake is described as available within 30 days and carries a $100 fee. If all three attempts are unsuccessful, you must submit a new application. This structure matters when you think about your score: a narrow miss is recoverable and relatively inexpensive, but three misses reset your application and start the cost and paperwork cycle again.
| Scenario | What happens |
|---|---|
| Pass on first attempt | Credential awarded; no retake fee |
| Miss the 70% threshold | First retake described within 30 days; $100 fee |
| Three unsuccessful attempts | A new application is required |
That recoverable-but-finite structure should shape your mindset. Do not treat the first attempt as a free trial, and do not assume retakes are unlimited. For a fuller view of what the whole process costs, see our CPD certification cost breakdown.
Fees, Clocks, and Eligibility Before You Ever Sit for the Score
Your passing score only matters if you are approved to test. The currently published board fees are a $350 examination fee plus a $50 application fee, for $400 total before training. Training tuition is separate and is set by the training provider, not NDCB. NDCB's FAQ publishes no annual dues or separate member and nonmember exam pricing.
Two separate timing clocks
The current exam page describes two timing expectations: test within one year of completing training, and schedule within 90 days of application approval. These are separate clocks, not a single combined eligibility window. If you use the prior or individual-learning pathway, the training lookback is described separately in the handbook, so reconcile the details with your specific route before booking.
Eligibility in brief
Applicants must be at least 18 and qualify through either an approved training-program graduate pathway (AlloDoula Academy is listed) or a prior and individual-learning pathway. The individual pathway requires 200 combined training hours completed within four years and 75 documented clinical hours: 55 in a medical facility and 20 in-home, including five live births and 20 postpartum hours within that clinical total. The handbook describes this clinical work as noncompensated and preceptor-verified. Supporting requirements include CPR, professional liability insurance, OSHA and bloodborne-pathogen, universal-precautions, and personal safety training, business or client-contract documentation, and agreement to the code and scope. These are prerequisites, not extra exam domains. Our full CPD requirements guide walks through the documentation in detail.
Key Takeaway
Resolve eligibility paperwork early. A strong preparation plan can be undone by an application held up over clinical-hour verification or a missing document, so start documentation well before you intend to schedule.
A Domain-Ordered Prep Calendar
Rather than a generic study schedule, tie your weeks to the three domains and the way scenarios overlap. Because no weights are published, give each domain real attention, and finish with mixed practice. For a broader resource list, see our CPD study guide.
Professional Practices foundation
- Review scope boundaries, confidentiality, and bias concepts from the Content Outline
- Practice distinguishing doula support from medical advice in sample scenarios
Care Practices depth
- Work through assessment, individualized planning, evaluation, follow-up, and referral
- Cover full-spectrum situations including loss and end-of-life support
Business Practices
- Review records, contracts, fees, insurance, and safety
- Practice questions on boundaries between client agreements and scope
Mixed timed practice
- Take timed multiple-choice sets that blend all three domains
- Review every miss and map it back to its domain
Business Practices gets its own week because candidates who come from hands-on care backgrounds often treat it as an afterthought. Since weights are unpublished, that is a risk you can avoid cheaply.
Test-Day Conditions That Protect Your Score
Remote proctoring means your environment is part of the exam. NDCB's current instructions require identification, an appropriate clear and private testing area, no outside materials or personal items, remaining in the testing space, and no copying of questions. Violating these conditions can jeopardize your attempt regardless of how well you know the material, so rehearse your setup in advance.
If you need accommodations, requests are due at least seven days before testing. Do not leave this to the last minute. For deadline and scheduling planning, see our guide to CPD exam dates and scheduling.
After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
The credential is valid for three years. Recertification costs $300 every three years. The detailed renewal instructions call for 20 continuing-education contact hours plus 10 Keeping Current contact hours, for 30 total contact hours. Note that this is 30 contact hours, not 30 CEUs. Keeping Current can be met through a preapproved 10-hour course or current-topic study with practice validation, including at least three client contracts and feedback. You must also maintain CPR and first aid, insurance, and compliance with the code and scope.
The FAQ's shorter summary mentions 20 CEUs and omits the separate 10-hour Keeping Current piece, so follow the detailed renewal page when planning. For what the credential can mean for your career, explore our analysis on whether the CPD is worth it. Note that no reliable NDCB-specific salary distribution or certification-driven earnings premium has been verified, so treat income claims with caution.
Frequently Asked Questions
The passing score is 70%. NDCB does not publish a scored-versus-unscored breakdown, so aim to perform well above the threshold rather than targeting exactly 70%.
NDCB's wording varies: the FAQ says 140, the current exam page says at least 140, and the handbook says approximately 140. The format is multiple choice with a two-hour time limit.
NDCB publishes no percentage weights for Professional Practices, Care Practices, or Business Practices. Five tasks per domain does not establish equal weighting, so prepare thoroughly for all three.
The published pathway allows three attempts per application. The first retake is described within 30 days with a $100 fee, and three unsuccessful attempts require a new application.
No cohort or first-attempt pass-rate statistic was verified in the reviewed official sources. See our pass-rate page for what is and isn't known.