CPD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CPD Certification?

TL;DR
  • CPD here means Certified Professional Doula, a full-spectrum, non-medical credential issued by the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB).
  • The exam is multiple choice, runs two hours, uses roughly 140 questions, and requires a 70% passing score.
  • Board fees total $400 ($50 application plus $350 exam); training tuition is paid separately to your school.
  • The official blueprint has three domains: Professional Practices, Care Practices, and Business Practices, with no published percentage weights.

Which "CPD" Are We Talking About?

The acronym CPD is shared by several unrelated credentials and by the general idea of continuing professional development. This article covers exactly one of them: the Certified Professional Doula credential from the National Doula Certification Board. If you searched for "CPD certification" and landed here, the fastest way to confirm you are in the right place is to check whether your goal involves supporting families through pregnancy, birth, postpartum, or other major life transitions. If it does, keep reading. If you were looking for a credential in another field that happens to abbreviate to CPD, the facts below will not apply to it.

Readers who want a broader orientation to the acronym can also see our explainers on what CPD is, what CPD stands for, and the main CPD certification overview. This page goes deeper on the credential itself: who grants it, what it covers, how you qualify, and what the exam actually asks of you.

Who Issues the Credential and What It Is (and Isn't)

The NDCB is the governing body for the Certified Professional Doula credential. It is important to be precise about scope, because doula certification is a crowded space with many issuers and many similarly named titles. The NDCB credential is not CAPPA's Certified Postpartum Doula, and it is not another organization's Certified Perinatal Doula. It is its own credential with its own exam, its own content outline, and its own renewal rules.

Certification is not licensure: NDCB's own fact sheet distinguishes its credential from state licensure and from any claim to regulate all doulas. Holding the CPD signals that you met a defined standard and passed an examination; it does not grant medical practice privileges, and the doula role itself remains non-medical. The fact sheet also reports 2024 accreditation by ANAB, while older handbook language still discusses seeking accreditation, so check the current NDCB documents if accreditation status matters to you.

That non-medical boundary shows up throughout the exam. Scenario questions tend to reward candidates who can distinguish supportive, informational, and advocacy roles from clinical decision-making, and who know when a referral is the right move.

What "Full-Spectrum" Means in Practice

NDCB describes its credential as full-spectrum. The coverage reaches well beyond the familiar birth-and-postpartum picture. It includes support related to:

  • Fertility
  • Prenatal care and preparation
  • Birth
  • Postpartum recovery
  • Infant feeding and sleep
  • Early childhood
  • Pregnancy and infant loss
  • Terminal illness and end-of-life support

One common misunderstanding deserves a direct correction: these life stages are not additional official exam domains. They describe the breadth of contexts in which a Certified Professional Doula may work. The exam itself is organized around three domains, covered below, and the full-spectrum contexts show up as the settings in which those domain tasks play out. A scenario might place a candidate with a family navigating a loss, or a client facing a terminal diagnosis, and then ask about communication, confidentiality, referral, or documentation, which are domain skills applied to a specific situation.

How Candidates Qualify

Eligibility details come from the NDCB Applicant & Candidate Handbook 2024-2025 (version 5, dated September 14, 2024). Applicants must be at least 18 years old and qualify through one of two routes. For the full eligibility walkthrough, see our CPD requirements guide; here is the overview.

Route 1: Approved training program graduate

Graduates of an NDCB-approved training program can apply on that basis. AlloDoula Academy is listed as an approved program. Evidence of program completion must fall within one year of your application.

Route 2: Prior or individual learning pathway

Candidates who assembled their training independently must document:

  • 200 combined training hours completed within four years
  • 75 documented clinical hours, split into 55 hours in a medical facility and 20 hours in a home setting
  • Within that clinical total, five live births and 20 postpartum hours

The handbook describes this clinical work as noncompensated and verified by a preceptor, with appropriately qualified medical preceptors. In practical terms, that means planning your clinical placements early and collecting verification as you go rather than reconstructing it afterward.

Supporting requirements

Both routes involve supporting documentation, including CPR, professional liability insurance, OSHA and bloodborne-pathogen training, universal precautions, Personal Safety training, business and client-contract documentation (or applicable employer verification), professional background materials, and agreement to the code and scope. These are prerequisites, not exam domains. You do not need to expect a separate test section on them, though the safety and business concepts naturally overlap with what the exam asks.

Two separate clocks: The current exam page advises testing within one year of training completion and scheduling within 90 days of application approval. These are distinct timelines, not a single eligibility window, and they must be reconciled with whichever pathway you used. The prior-learning route also has its own training lookback described in the handbook. Read the current exam dates and scheduling guide and confirm specifics with NDCB before you apply.

Note that no universal fixed number of reference letters was verified as a board requirement. If your training school asks for references at admission, that is the school's process, not a separate NDCB rule.

The Exam: Format, Delivery, and Rules

Format and length

The exam is multiple choice with a two-hour time limit. The question count is described slightly differently across NDCB sources: the FAQ says 140, the current examination page says at least 140, and the handbook says approximately 140. The safest planning assumption is that you should expect about 140 questions, possibly more, and pace yourself for roughly that volume within two hours. The board does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored. The passing score is 70%; see the passing score breakdown for what that means for your preparation.

Delivery

The current exam-delivery page identifies the Assess.AI examination platform with MonitorEDU remote proctoring. An older linked handbook names a different provider pairing (Prolydian/ProctorU). That is a genuine discrepancy in the published materials, and the rule of thumb is to trust the current exam-delivery page for scheduling and to read your confirmation emails carefully.

Test-day rules

  • Valid identification is required.
  • You need an appropriate, clear, private testing area.
  • No outside materials or personal items are permitted.
  • You must remain in the testing space for the duration.
  • Copying or recording questions is prohibited.
  • Accommodation requests are due at least seven days before your test date.

Because the exam is remotely proctored, the environment check is part of the exam experience. Test your setup in advance rather than discovering a problem at check-in.

Attempts and retakes

The published pathway allows three attempts per application. The first retake is described as available within 30 days for a $100 fee. After three unsuccessful attempts, a new application is required. Neither the reviewed official sources nor any verified data point provides a cohort or first-attempt pass rate, so treat any number you see quoted elsewhere with caution. Our pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said, and our difficulty guide covers what makes the exam challenging in qualitative terms.

The Three-Domain Blueprint

The formal exam objectives live in the NDCB Certified Professional Doula Content Outline, v3 (May 2024). It defines exactly three domains, each with tasks and supporting knowledge and skills. NDCB does not publish percentage weights, and having five tasks per domain does not mean the domains are equally weighted on the exam. No later blueprint version was verified, so confirm you are studying from the current outline. For a deeper dive, read our complete guide to all three CPD domains.

Domain 1: Professional Practices

This domain covers the standards that govern how a doula conducts themselves and communicates.

  • Professional standards and scope of practice, including the line between non-medical support and clinical care
  • Using evidence appropriately when sharing information with clients
  • Communication skills with clients, families, and other professionals
  • Confidentiality and its practical limits
  • Recognizing and addressing personal bias

Domain 2: Care Practices

This domain follows the arc of working with a client from first contact through follow-up.

  • Assessing client needs and circumstances
  • Building an individualized support plan
  • Delivering support across the client's journey
  • Evaluating how well the support is working
  • Follow-up after the period of care
  • Referral to appropriate resources when needs exceed the doula's scope

Domain 3: Business Practices

This domain treats the doula as a practitioner running a small professional operation.

  • Operating a practice responsibly
  • Records and documentation
  • Contracts and client agreements
  • Fees and how they are communicated
  • Insurance
  • Safety, for both clients and the practitioner

What the question style tends to reward

Because the credential is non-medical and full-spectrum, expect questions that test judgment inside realistic situations. Think of a client who asks for medical advice, a family dealing with a loss who needs support without false reassurance, a request that would stretch the boundaries of your scope, or a contract dispute over what services were promised. The strongest answers typically honor the client's autonomy, stay inside scope, protect confidentiality, document appropriately, and refer when the need exceeds what a doula provides. Domain 3 questions can feel surprisingly practical for candidates who trained primarily on the hands-on side, so give them real attention rather than assuming they are an afterthought.

What the Board Charges (and What It Doesn't)

The board fees published by NDCB, in USD, are:

ItemAmount
Application fee$50
Examination fee$350
Total before training$400
Retake fee$100
Recertification (every three years)$300

Two clarifications matter for budgeting. First, the FAQ publishes no annual dues and no separate member versus nonmember examination tier, so you should not budget for either based on the published information. Second, training tuition is additional to these board fees and is set by your training provider, not by NDCB. If you are considering AlloDoula Academy, its program details page lists its own pricing and structure. Our full cost breakdown walks through how to think about the total investment, and our CPD training overview covers the education side.

Keeping the Credential: The Three-Year Cycle

The CPD is valid for three years. Renewal is where a common source of confusion lives. The detailed recertification instructions require 20 continuing-education contact hours plus 10 Keeping Current contact hours, for 30 total contact hours. That total is expressed in contact hours; it should not be converted into "30 CEUs" on your own, since a contact hour and a continuing-education unit are not interchangeable terms.

The FAQ offers a shorter summary that mentions 20 CEUs and omits the separate 10-hour Keeping Current component. When the two conflict, rely on the detailed recertification page, and recognize that the FAQ is a condensed version rather than the full requirement.

Keeping Current: two ways to satisfy it

The Keeping Current component can be met in one of two ways:

  • Completing a preapproved 10-hour course, or
  • Studying current topics and validating that learning in practice, including at least three client contracts with feedback

Renewal also requires maintaining CPR/first aid, keeping professional liability insurance active, and staying in compliance with the code and scope. Starting a simple log of continuing education and client feedback from your first year as a credentialed doula makes the three-year deadline far less stressful.

NDCB CPD vs. Other Doula Pathways

Many aspiring doulas compare the NDCB route against other well-known organizations such as DONA International, which has its own separate birth doula certification pathway (see DONA's published certification page for its current requirements). The right choice depends on your goals, your local community, and which credential the families, agencies, or employers you hope to work with recognize.

ConsiderationNDCB Certified Professional Doula
Scope emphasisFull-spectrum, non-medical: fertility through end-of-life
Exam structureMultiple choice, two hours, about 140 questions, 70% to pass
BlueprintThree domains: Professional, Care, and Business Practices
Board fees$400 before training; $100 retake; $300 recertification
RenewalEvery three years; 30 total contact hours (20 CE plus 10 Keeping Current)

Rather than assuming one credential universally outranks another, ask local birth workers, community organizations, and the clients you hope to serve which credentials they recognize and why. Do your own comparison against the other organization's current published requirements, since those can change.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Blueprint

You only need one short planning idea here: sequence your study by domain, and let your background decide the order. A candidate coming from hands-on birth work often finds Domain 3 (Business Practices) the least familiar, so it earns an early, focused block rather than being left for last-minute cramming. A candidate coming from a business or administrative background may find the reverse, and should front-load the scenario-driven material in Domains 1 and 2.

Phase 1

Read the blueprint first

  • Work through the NDCB Content Outline v3 task by task
  • Mark each task as confident, shaky, or unfamiliar
Phase 2

Attack your weakest domain

  • Spend your longest study blocks on the domain with the most "unfamiliar" tasks
  • Practice scope, referral, confidentiality, and contract scenarios
Phase 3

Mixed practice under time pressure

  • Simulate the two-hour pacing for about 140 questions
  • Review every miss against the blueprint task it maps to

Because the exam's scored/unscored split is not disclosed and domain weights are unpublished, avoid strategies that bet on a favorite domain. Balanced competence is the safer path. For a fuller preparation plan, see our CPD study guide, the quick-reference CPD cheat sheet, and the CPD practice tests for timed, scenario-based practice.

Key Takeaway

Treat generic doula flashcards and "exam question" dumps with suspicion. Many are not aligned to the NDCB Content Outline. Anchor your preparation to the three official domains and verify any third-party material against the outline before trusting it.

Where the Credential Fits in a Doula Career

Certified Professional Doulas work in several settings: independent private practice, community-based and nonprofit programs, and organizations that employ or contract with doulas. The full-spectrum scope can broaden the kinds of clients and contexts a credentialed doula is prepared to serve, from fertility and pregnancy through loss and end-of-life support. For a look at how this plays out in the marketplace, see our CPD jobs overview.

On earnings, be careful. No reliable salary distribution specific to the NDCB CPD was verified, and there is no verified evidence that certification by itself causes a pay premium. Income for doulas varies widely with geography, client base, service mix, and whether you work independently or for an employer. Our salary guide and ROI analysis discuss how to evaluate the credential's value without relying on unsupported figures. If you are ready to test your knowledge, start with the CPD Exam Prep practice tests.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CPD certification mean in the doula world?

It refers to the Certified Professional Doula credential from the National Doula Certification Board. It is a full-spectrum, non-medical certification earned by meeting eligibility requirements and passing a multiple-choice examination.

How many questions are on the exam and what score do I need?

NDCB materials describe about 140 questions, with the current exam page saying at least 140, over a two-hour limit. The passing score is 70%. The scored versus unscored breakdown is not disclosed.

How much does it cost to get certified?

Board fees are $50 for the application plus $350 for the exam, totaling $400, with a $100 retake fee. Training tuition from your program is separate and additional.

Can I retake the exam if I don't pass?

Yes. The published pathway allows three attempts per application, with the first retake described within 30 days for $100. After three unsuccessful attempts, you must submit a new application.

How do I keep the credential active?

Recertify every three years for $300. The detailed requirements call for 20 continuing-education contact hours plus 10 Keeping Current hours, along with current CPR/first aid, liability insurance, and compliance with the code and scope.

Ready to pass your CPD exam?

Put this into practice with free CPD questions across every exam domain.