- Which CPD This Guide Covers
- What You Are Actually Studying For
- The Three-Domain Blueprint
- Sort Out Eligibility Before You Study
- Fees, Deadlines, and the Two Clocks
- Scenario Thinking for Full-Spectrum Questions
- A Domain-Sequenced Study Plan
- Remote Proctoring and Test-Day Rules
- After You Pass: Retakes, Renewal, and Career Context
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CPD here is NDCB's Certified Professional Doula credential, built on three domains: Professional, Care, and Business Practices.
- The exam is multiple-choice, two hours, with a 70% passing score; question count is around 140 or more.
- Board fees total $400 ($50 application plus $350 exam), separate from training tuition.
- The NDCB Content Outline v3 (May 2024) is your authoritative syllabus; no domain weights are published.
Which CPD This Guide Covers
Several credentials share the acronym "CPD," and mixing them up is the fastest way to waste study time. This guide is exclusively about the Certified Professional Doula credential issued by the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB). It is a full-spectrum, non-medical doula credential. It is not CAPPA's Certified Postpartum Doula, and it is not another organization's perinatal doula certificate. If you are still orienting yourself, our explainers on what CPD certification is and what CPD stands for cover the naming question in more detail.
The "full-spectrum" label matters for your preparation. NDCB's scope reaches well beyond birth: fertility, prenatal, birth, and postpartum support, feeding and sleep, early childhood, pregnancy or infant loss, terminal illness, and end-of-life support. Those topics are the contexts in which you will be tested, but they are not extra official domains, and they do not confer medical practice privileges. Everything you study should be filtered through one idea: a doula supports, informs, and refers, and never diagnoses, treats, or prescribes.
What You Are Actually Studying For
Before building a plan, know the container your knowledge must fit into. The published format is straightforward, though a few details are deliberately fuzzy in NDCB's own materials.
| Element | What NDCB Publishes |
|---|---|
| Format | Multiple-choice |
| Time limit | Two hours |
| Question count | Wording varies: the FAQ says 140, the exam page says at least 140, the handbook says approximately 140 |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Delivery | Assess.AI examination platform with MonitorEDU remote proctoring |
| Pass rate | No verified first-attempt or cohort statistic in reviewed official sources |
Treat the question count as "roughly 140, possibly more" and pace yourself accordingly. At 140 questions in 120 minutes, you have a little under 52 seconds per item, so you cannot afford to deliberate long on any single question. For more on how the cut score works, see our page on the CPD passing score, and for what the data does and does not say about outcomes, read the CPD pass rate breakdown. Because no verified pass rate exists, be skeptical of any site that quotes one confidently.
The Three-Domain Blueprint
NDCB's formal exam objectives live in the NDCB Certified Professional Doula Content Outline, v3 (May 2024). It defines exactly three domains, each with tasks plus supporting knowledge and skills. Importantly, NDCB publishes no percentage weights. Each domain happens to list five tasks, but equal task counts do not prove equal exam weighting, so do not assume you can neglect one area. A deeper walkthrough is in our CPD exam domains guide.
Domain 1: Professional Practices
Professional Practices
This domain is about how a doula conducts herself as a professional and where the role begins and ends.
- Standards of practice and the NDCB code and scope of practice
- Using evidence to inform support and information-sharing
- Communication with clients, families, and care teams
- Confidentiality and its limits
- Recognizing and addressing personal and systemic bias
Expect scenario questions where the correct answer protects scope. If a client asks whether to accept an induction, the doula's job is to help the client gather information and voice questions to the provider, not to recommend a medical choice. Questions about confidentiality will test whether you can identify the narrow circumstances that justify sharing information versus the many that do not.
Domain 2: Care Practices
Care Practices
The most hands-on domain, covering the cycle of care from first contact through follow-up.
- Assessing client needs, preferences, and circumstances
- Building an individualized support plan
- Delivering emotional, physical comfort, and informational support
- Evaluating how support is going and adjusting
- Follow-up after the main period of care
- Referral to appropriate professionals and resources
This is where full-spectrum knowledge shows up most. A single scenario might involve a postpartum client struggling with feeding and sleep, a family navigating a pregnancy loss, or a client with a terminal diagnosis seeking end-of-life support. The test is less about reciting facts and more about choosing the response that is client-centered, non-medical, and appropriately referred.
Domain 3: Business Practices
Business Practices
Many candidates underestimate this domain because it feels unrelated to birth work. Do not.
- Operating a doula practice responsibly
- Keeping client records and understanding what to document
- Contracts: what belongs in them and why
- Setting fees and communicating them clearly
- Professional liability insurance and its purpose
- Safety, including personal safety and infection-control basics
Questions here tend to be practical: which element must a service contract spell out, what is the purpose of liability coverage, how should records be handled, or what is the safest course when a situation feels unsafe. If you come from a clinical or caregiving background, budget extra time for this domain. If you come from a small-business background, budget extra time for Professional Practices instead.
Sort Out Eligibility Before You Study
The best study plan fails if your application stalls. NDCB's prerequisites come from the Applicant & Candidate Handbook 2024-2025 (v5, dated September 14, 2024). Our full CPD requirements page goes deeper, but here is the structure you need to understand.
Applicants must be at least 18 and qualify through one of two routes:
- Approved training-program graduate pathway. AlloDoula Academy is listed as an approved program. Completion evidence must fall within one year of your application.
- Prior or individual-learning pathway. This requires 200 combined training hours completed within four years, plus 75 documented clinical hours: 55 in a medical facility and 20 in-home. Within that clinical total, the requirement includes five live births and 20 postpartum hours. The handbook describes this clinical work as noncompensated and preceptor-verified, with appropriately qualified medical preceptors.
Supporting requirements apply across pathways: CPR, professional liability insurance, OSHA/bloodborne-pathogen, universal-precautions, and Personal Safety training, business and client-contract documentation (or applicable employer verification), professional background materials, and agreement to the code and scope. Note that these training subjects are prerequisites, not additional exam domains. Also, no universal fixed number of reference letters was verified, so do not treat a training school's admission references as a separate board requirement. Check the individual-pathway requirements sheet and the handbook, and for training options see our overview of CPD training.
Fees, Deadlines, and the Two Clocks
Budget realistically. The current published board fees are a $50 application plus a $350 examination, totaling $400, before any training tuition. A retake is $100. Recertification is $300 every three years. The FAQ publishes no annual dues and no member/nonmember exam price tier. Training tuition is separate and set by your program; see our CPD certification cost breakdown for how the pieces add up.
| Item | Published Amount (USD) |
|---|---|
| Application | $50 |
| Examination | $350 |
| Board total before training | $400 |
| Retake | $100 |
| Recertification (every three years) | $300 |
Now the timing, which trips up many candidates. The current exam page describes two separate clocks: test within one year of training completion, and schedule within 90 days of application approval. These are not a single eligibility window, and you should reconcile them with whichever pathway you used, since the prior-learning route describes its training lookback separately. Practically, that means you should not apply until you are close to ready to sit. Applying early to "lock in" your spot can start the 90-day scheduling clock before you have finished studying. Our CPD exam dates and scheduling guide covers the mechanics.
Accommodation requests are due at least seven days before testing, so file early if you need one. And remember the attempt rules: three attempts per application, a first retake described within 30 days at $100, and a new application required after three unsuccessful attempts.
Scenario Thinking for Full-Spectrum Questions
Because the credential is full-spectrum, you should practice reasoning through situations, not memorizing lists. Below are original practice patterns that mirror the judgment the exam rewards. They are illustrations, not actual exam items.
Grief-Support Pattern
A client experiences a pregnancy loss and asks you to stay with her through the hospital stay and afterward. The strongest response centers her stated wishes, offers presence and non-directive emotional support, respects confidentiality, and refers to bereavement counseling or mental-health resources when needs exceed your scope. Responses that interpret her symptoms medically, promise outcomes, or push her toward a particular grieving timeline are wrong.
Boundary Pattern
A postpartum client asks whether her baby's feeding pattern is "normal" and whether to adjust a medication. A doula can share general, evidence-informed information and help her prepare questions, but dosing and diagnosis belong to her clinician. The correct answer routes the medical question to the appropriate provider while still offering practical support.
Business Pattern
A client asks to begin services before signing anything. The exam-safe answer reflects that a clear written agreement covering services, fees, and expectations protects both parties, and that records and insurance support responsible practice. Informal arrangements, even friendly ones, are the trap answer.
Key Takeaway
When two answers both sound caring, choose the one that preserves client autonomy, stays inside non-medical scope, and refers when a need exceeds your role. That filter resolves a large share of scenario questions.
Wondering how demanding this reasoning style feels in practice? Our analysis of how hard the CPD exam is unpacks where candidates typically struggle, and you can sharpen the skill with timed questions on our CPD practice test.
A Domain-Sequenced Study Plan
Generic study tricks matter far less than sequencing the right content. Here is a six-week structure tied to the actual blueprint. Adjust the length to your background; the point is the order and the reasoning behind it.
Read the Source Documents
- Read the NDCB Content Outline v3 end to end and turn every task into a question you can answer
- Skim the handbook sections on the exam so you understand format and rules
- Take a short diagnostic to see which domain feels weakest
Professional Practices First
- Study scope, code, confidentiality, and bias because they govern every other domain
- Write your own one-line scope test: "Is this support or is this medical practice?"
- Drill communication scenarios
Care Practices, Case by Case
- Work through the care cycle: assess, plan, support, evaluate, follow up, refer
- Cover each full-spectrum context, including loss, feeding and sleep, and end-of-life support
- Practice identifying the referral trigger in each scenario
Business Practices
- Review contracts, records, fees, insurance, and safety
- Make a checklist of what a compliant service agreement contains
Timed Mixed Practice
- Run full-length timed sets at roughly 52 seconds per question
- Review every miss by domain and by the rule it violated
- Use the CPD cheat sheet for a final fact pass
The reason for putting Professional Practices first is that scope and ethics logic reappears inside Care and Business questions. Learning it early makes later material easier to evaluate. Business Practices sits late because it is the most fact-based and benefits from fresh recall. A standing habit that works for this exam: after every practice question you miss, name which domain it belonged to and what principle you broke, rather than just noting the right letter.
Remote Proctoring and Test-Day Rules
The exam is taken remotely, so your environment is part of your preparation. Current instructions require valid identification, an appropriate clear and private testing area, no outside materials or personal items, remaining within the testing space, and no copying of questions. No adaptive testing or calculator specification was verified, so do not plan around either.
- Test your setup early. Run any system check offered by the current platform well before exam day.
- Clear your space. Remove notes, extra devices, and clutter. A messy desk can delay or derail check-in.
- Plan for the full two hours. Since you must stay in the testing space, handle everything else beforehand.
- Do not copy or record questions. This violates the rules and can jeopardize your result.
After You Pass: Retakes, Renewal, and Career Context
Passing is not the end of the credential's obligations. Certification is valid for three years. Renewal, per NDCB's detailed recertification instructions, requires 20 continuing-education contact hours plus 10 Keeping Current contact hours, for 30 total contact hours. Do not convert that into "30 CEUs," which is a different unit. The Keeping Current piece can be a preapproved 10-hour course or current-topic study with practice validation, including at least three client contracts and feedback. You must also maintain CPR/first aid, insurance, and compliance with the code and scope. The FAQ's shorter summary mentions only 20 CEUs and omits the separate 10-hour component, so rely on the detailed recertification page and not the shorthand.
On the career side, be honest with yourself about what is known. No reliable NDCB-CPD-specific salary distribution or certification-caused earnings premium was verified, so treat any precise income promise with suspicion. Our CPD salary guide and the ROI analysis discuss how to think about value qualitatively, and our overview of CPD jobs covers where certified doulas find work. It also helps to understand that NDCB's materials distinguish this credential from licensure and from regulation of all doulas, and its fact sheet reports 2024 ANAB accreditation, whereas older handbook text discusses seeking accreditation. If you are weighing it against other bodies, such as DONA, compare requirements and recognition directly rather than assuming the credentials are interchangeable.
Frequently Asked Questions
NDCB's wording is not fully consistent. The FAQ says 140, the exam page says at least 140, and the handbook says approximately 140. Plan for roughly 140 multiple-choice questions in a two-hour window, and recheck the current exam page before testing.
The published passing score is 70%. NDCB does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, so aim for consistent accuracy across all three domains rather than trying to calculate an exact number of misses you can afford.
NDCB's Content Outline v3 lists three domains (Professional Practices, Care Practices, and Business Practices) but publishes no percentage weights. Each lists five tasks, which does not establish equal weighting, so study all three thoroughly.
You get three attempts per application. The first retake is described within 30 days and costs $100. After three unsuccessful attempts, you must submit a new application. Review your weakest domain between attempts and retake only when your timed practice scores are consistently strong.
You need to qualify through either an approved training-program graduate pathway or the prior/individual-learning pathway with 200 training hours and 75 documented clinical hours. Board fees of $400 are separate from training tuition, which depends on your program.