CPD logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CPD?

TL;DR
  • Here, CPD means Certified Professional Doula, a non-medical, full-spectrum credential issued by the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB).
  • The exam blueprint has three official domains: Professional Practices, Care Practices, and Business Practices.
  • The passing score is 70% on a two-hour multiple-choice exam of at least 140 questions.
  • Published board fees total $400 before training: a $350 exam plus a $50 application.

Which CPD We Mean: Certified Professional Doula

The acronym CPD is crowded. Several unrelated credentials and phrases share it, and search results mix them freely. On this site, CPD refers to exactly one thing: the Certified Professional Doula credential awarded by the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB). Nothing in this article applies to any other credential that happens to abbreviate the same way, so fees, exam rules, and domain names you read elsewhere under "CPD" may not transfer.

If you landed here wondering about the acronym itself, our short explainers on what CPD stands for and CPD meaning cover the naming question. This guide goes further: it explains what the NDCB credential actually is, what the exam tests, how you qualify, and what it costs to get and keep it. When you are ready to test your knowledge, the CPD Exam Prep practice test is built around the NDCB three-domain structure.

Who Issues It and What It Is (and Is Not)

NDCB is a certifying body for doulas. Its Certified Professional Doula credential is a certification, not a government license. NDCB's own fact sheet draws that line explicitly: the credential is distinct from licensure, and NDCB does not regulate all doulas. The same fact sheet reports a 2024 ANAB accreditation, whereas older handbook text still discusses seeking accreditation. If you read both documents, expect that wording difference and treat the newer fact sheet as the more current statement.

Two practical consequences follow from the "certification, not license" distinction:

  • Holding the CPD does not grant any medical practice privileges. A doula provides non-medical support and does not diagnose, treat, or perform clinical tasks.
  • Certification is a professional credential you earn by meeting training and clinical requirements, passing an exam, and agreeing to a code and scope of practice, then maintaining it through renewal.

For a plain-language overview of the credential's name and purpose, see what CPD certification is.

The Full-Spectrum Scope of Practice

The NDCB credential is described as full-spectrum. That means the doula role it certifies is not limited to the labor room. The scope reaches across the arc of family life and care:

  • Fertility support
  • Prenatal, birth, and postpartum support
  • Feeding and sleep
  • Early childhood
  • Pregnancy and infant loss
  • Terminal illness and end-of-life support
Scope is not the same as domains: The areas above describe the breadth of doula work the credential covers. They are not extra exam domains, and they do not expand what a doula may do clinically. The exam is organized around exactly three official domains, covered next.

This matters for candidates because a scenario question might involve a grieving family, a client facing a terminal diagnosis, or a postpartum client struggling with sleep. In each case the underlying skill being tested is usually the same: stay in scope, communicate respectfully, document appropriately, and refer when a need falls outside non-medical support.

The Three Official Exam Domains

The formal exam objectives live in the NDCB Certified Professional Doula Content Outline, v3 (May 2024). It defines three domains, each with tasks and supporting knowledge and skills. NDCB does not publish percentage weights for these domains, and the fact that each domain lists a similar number of tasks does not mean they are weighted equally on the exam. Plan to be competent in all three rather than guessing at a favorite. No later published blueprint version was verified, so confirm you are using the current outline before you build a plan. For a deeper walkthrough, see our complete guide to all three CPD content areas.

Domain 1: Professional Practices

The professional foundation of the role: how a doula behaves, communicates, and stays within bounds.

  • Standards of practice and scope of practice boundaries
  • Using evidence appropriately in support and information-sharing
  • Communication with clients, families, and care teams
  • Confidentiality and its practical limits
  • Recognizing and addressing bias

Domain 2: Care Practices

The hands-on care cycle, from first understanding a client's needs to knowing when to hand off.

  • Assessment of client needs and circumstances
  • Individualized planning rather than one-size-fits-all support
  • Providing support and evaluating whether it is working
  • Follow-up after the support period
  • Referral when needs exceed non-medical scope

Domain 3: Business Practices

The operating side of running a doula practice responsibly.

  • Setting up and operating a practice
  • Records and documentation
  • Contracts and fees
  • Insurance
  • Safety, for both client and practitioner

Candidates from caring backgrounds sometimes underweight Business Practices because it feels less meaningful than Care Practices. That is a mistake: contracts, records, and insurance questions are part of the blueprint, and the supporting requirements for certification (client-contract documentation, liability insurance) reinforce that NDCB treats the business side as part of professional competence.

What question styles to expect

The exam is multiple choice. Because the blueprint is practice-oriented, expect questions framed around realistic situations rather than pure vocabulary recall. A typical item might describe a client's request that edges toward medical advice, a conflict between a family's wishes and a care team's instructions, or a contract clause that creates a boundary problem. The best answer is usually the one that respects scope, protects the client's autonomy and confidentiality, and routes medical or out-of-scope matters to the appropriate professional.

Exam Format, Delivery, and Passing Score

FeatureWhat NDCB Publishes
FormatMultiple choice
Question countDescribed as 140 (FAQ), at least 140 (current exam page), and approximately 140 (handbook)
Time limitTwo hours
Passing score70%
DeliveryAssess.AI examination platform with MonitorEDU remote proctoring
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
AttemptsThree per application

A few details deserve care. First, the question-count wording is not perfectly consistent across NDCB documents, so treat 140 as a minimum-ish figure rather than a guaranteed exact total. Second, the older linked handbook names Prolydian/ProctorU as the proctoring provider, while the current exam-delivery page names Assess.AI with MonitorEDU. When scheduling, follow the current exam-delivery page. Our guides to the CPD passing score and exam dates and scheduling go deeper on both topics.

Remote testing requirements

Because the exam is remotely proctored, your environment is part of the test. Current instructions call for the following:

  • Valid identification
  • An appropriate, clear, private testing area
  • No outside materials or personal items
  • Remaining in the testing space for the duration
  • No copying of exam questions

Accommodation requests are due at least seven days before your test date, so do not leave that for the last minute.

Two clocks you should not confuse

NDCB's exam page describes two separate timing rules: testing within one year of training completion, and scheduling within 90 days of application approval. These are separate clocks rather than one blended eligibility window. If you are using the prior or individual-learning pathway, the handbook describes the training lookback separately, so reconcile all of these against your own dates before you apply.

About pass rates: No cohort or first-attempt pass-rate statistic was verified in the reviewed official NDCB sources. Be skeptical of any site quoting a precise figure without citing NDCB. See our discussion of the CPD pass rate for what can and cannot be said responsibly, and how hard the CPD exam is for a difficulty assessment.

Eligibility Pathways and Clinical Hours

Eligibility is governed by the Applicant & Candidate Handbook 2024-2025 (v5). Applicants must be at least 18 and qualify through one of two routes. Our CPD requirements guide gives the full picture; here is the structure.

Pathway 1: Approved training-program graduate

You complete a program on NDCB's approved list; AlloDoula Academy is listed. Completion evidence must fall within one year of your application.

Pathway 2: Prior or individual learning

This route requires:

  • 200 combined training hours completed within four years
  • 75 documented clinical hours: 55 in a medical facility and 20 in-home
  • Within that clinical total, five live births and 20 postpartum hours

The handbook describes clinical work as noncompensated and preceptor-verified, with appropriately qualified medical preceptors. In practice, that means you should line up preceptors and verification paperwork early; the clinical requirement is the part of this route that takes the longest and depends on other people.

Supporting requirements for both routes

  • CPR certification
  • Professional liability insurance
  • OSHA/bloodborne-pathogen, universal-precautions, and personal safety training
  • Business and client-contract documentation, or applicable employer verification
  • Professional background materials
  • Agreement to the NDCB code and scope

Key Takeaway

The training subjects in the handbook are prerequisites, not additional exam domains. Do not mistake a school's curriculum list for the exam blueprint; study the three-domain content outline instead. Also note that no universal fixed reference-letter count was verified, so a school's admission references should not be treated as a separate board requirement.

Board Fees Versus Training Tuition

NDCB's currently published USD fees are straightforward:

ItemFee (USD)
Application$50
Examination$350
Initial total (before training)$400
Retake$100
Recertification (every three years)$300

The FAQ publishes no annual dues and no member versus nonmember exam pricing tier. Importantly, training tuition is separate and is set by the school you choose, not by NDCB. Budget for CPR, insurance, and safety training as well, since those are supporting requirements. For a fuller breakdown, see the CPD certification cost guide.

On retakes: the published pathway allows three attempts per application, with the first retake described as within 30 days at a $100 fee. After three unsuccessful attempts, a new application is required.

Recertification: The 30-Hour Cycle

The CPD is valid for three years. The detailed recertification instructions require two components, totaling 30 contact hours:

  • 20 continuing-education contact hours
  • 10 Keeping Current contact hours

Keeping Current can be satisfied with a preapproved 10-hour course, or through current-topic study with practice validation that includes at least three client contracts with feedback. You must also maintain CPR/first aid, liability insurance, and compliance with the code and scope.

Watch the wording difference: The FAQ's shorter summary mentions 20 CEUs and omits the separate 10-hour Keeping Current component. Use the detailed recertification page as your planning source, and do not convert the 30 contact hours into "30 CEUs," since that conversion is not stated by NDCB.

NDCB CPD and Other Doula Credentials

Doula certification is not a single national standard, and several organizations issue their own credentials. The NDCB CPD is distinct from, for example, a postpartum-focused credential from another body or a birth doula certification such as DONA's, which follows its own separate pathway.

QuestionNDCB Certified Professional Doula
ScopeFull-spectrum, non-medical
IssuerNational Doula Certification Board
Exam domainsProfessional, Care, and Business Practices
License?No, a certification
Renewal cycleThree years

When comparing, do not assume that another body's fees, hours, or exam format match NDCB's. Evaluate each credential against its own published requirements and decide based on the scope of work you want to offer, the clients you serve, and any requirements from employers or payers in your area.

Career Value, Salary, and Where Doulas Work

Doulas work in several settings: independent private practice, community-based and nonprofit programs, and arrangements affiliated with birth or health organizations. Full-spectrum scope means that some doulas build practices that extend beyond birth into loss, early childhood, or end-of-life support. Our overview of CPD jobs explores these settings.

On money, be careful. No reliable NDCB-CPD-specific salary distribution and no verified certification-caused earnings premium were found in the reviewed sources. Doula income varies widely with market, client base, pricing, and whether work is independent or employed, so any single number promoted for "CPD salary" should be treated with suspicion unless its source is clear. The CPD salary guide and ROI analysis walk through the factors that actually drive earnings and how to evaluate the investment of roughly $400 in board fees plus tuition and supporting costs.

A Domain-Based Preparation Plan

Generic study techniques matter less than matching your effort to the blueprint. A simple sequencing approach that follows the three domains:

Weeks 1-2

Professional Practices

  • Study scope-of-practice boundaries first; they shape the correct answer in questions from every domain
  • Practice confidentiality, bias, and communication scenarios
Weeks 3-5

Care Practices

  • Walk through assessment, individualized planning, support, evaluation, follow-up, and referral as one continuous cycle
  • Write your own scenarios involving loss, feeding, sleep, and end-of-life support, and decide when referral is the right move
Week 6

Business Practices

  • Review contracts, fees, records, insurance, and safety
  • Reread your own client-contract documentation with an exam-taker's eye
Week 7

Mixed review

  • Take timed multiple-choice sets to rehearse the two-hour limit
  • Review missed questions by domain and by the specific task they tested

Treat third-party flashcards and generic doula question banks cautiously; many are not aligned with the NDCB content outline, and generic doula material is not evidence of exam alignment. Anchor your study in the official outline, then use a tool built around it. Our CPD study guide and the one-page CPD cheat sheet are good companions, and you can drill domain by domain with the CPD practice test. If you are weighing training options first, our page on CPD training is a useful starting point.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CPD stand for on this site?

It stands for Certified Professional Doula, the credential issued by the National Doula Certification Board (NDCB). It does not refer to any other credential that uses the same abbreviation.

How many domains does the CPD exam have?

Three official domains: Professional Practices, Care Practices, and Business Practices. NDCB publishes no percentage weights for them, so prepare for all three.

What score do I need to pass?

The published passing score is 70%. The exam is multiple choice with a two-hour limit and a question count described as 140 or at least 140, depending on the NDCB document.

How much does it cost to get certified?

NDCB's published board fees are a $50 application and a $350 exam, totaling $400 before training. A retake is $100, and recertification is $300 every three years. Training tuition is separate.

Is the CPD the same as a license to practice?

No. It is a professional certification, not licensure, and it confers no medical practice privileges. NDCB's fact sheet distinguishes the credential from licensure and from regulation of all doulas.

Ready to pass your CPD exam?

Put this into practice with free CPD questions across every exam domain.